Skip to content Skip to footer

The 7 Stages of Dementia

Understanding the Stages of Dementia

Dementia encompasses several different types, with Alzheimer’s disease being the most common. Typically, the progression of Dementia can be categorized into three stages: mild, moderate, and severe. However, a more detailed seven-stage model is often preferred for its specificity in tracking cognitive decline. Understanding where a loved one falls on this scale can help identify signs and symptoms and determine the most appropriate care needs.

The 7 Stages of Dementia

1. Normal Behaviour
In the earliest stage, there may be no noticeable symptoms, although changes in the brain can occur years before signs of Dementia emerge.

2. Forgetfulness
This early stage may involve frequent forgetfulness and losing things around the house, though not significantly different from normal age-related memory issues.

3. Mild Decline
Subtle changes become noticeable, such as frequently losing keys or missing appointments. This stage can last up to seven years.

4. Moderate Decline
Symptoms become clearer, with difficulties in managing finances, paying bills, or remembering recent meals. A Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE) at this stage often leads to a Dementia diagnosis, typically lasting around two years.

5. Moderately Severe Decline
Daily living assistance becomes necessary, although personal needs like toileting can often be managed independently. Recognition of family and long-term memories usually remains intact. This stage averages 1.5 years.

6. Severe Decline
Constant supervision is required, with significant help needed for washing, dressing, and managing incontinence. Personality and behaviour changes, such as anger and aggression, may occur. This stage generally lasts around 2.5 years.

7. Very Severe Decline
In the final stage, severe loss of speech and daily living abilities requires around-the-clock care. Many do not reach this stage due to other health conditions.

How A Star Care Can Help

Dementia progresses through seven stages, yet it’s often described in three broader stages—mild, moderate, and severe—to help guide understanding and support. Recognising the specific behaviours and needs at each stage is crucial for providing effective care.

If these behaviours sound familiar and you’re seeking support, A Star Care is here to help. Our luxury live-in care services are designed to provide compassionate, personalised care for your loved ones. With our H.E.A.R.T values—Honesty, Empathy, Accountability, Respect, and teamwork—we ensure that your family member receives the highest quality care.

If you recognize these signs in a relative and need support, contact our team today. We’re here to listen, discuss your situation, and show you how our live-in care services can make life easier for you and your loved one. Shine brighter with A Star Care. For an informal chat, call us at 02080583302.

Leave a comment


A Star Care offers personalised live-in care services to ensure comfort, dignity, and the highest quality of life for you or your loved ones. Our luxury care solutions are designed to meet individual needs with compassion and excellence, making us the premier choice for live-in and domiciliary care in the UK.


A Star Care Agency
20-22 Wenlock Road
N1 7GU

Privacy & Cookie Policy | Terms of Use

A Star Care © 2024. All Rights Reserved. The content on this website is owned by us and our licensors. Do not copy any content (including images) without our consent.

A STAR CARE AGENCY LTD, registered as a limited company in England and Wales under company number: 14715725.
Registered Company Address: 20-22 Wenlock Road, London, England, N1 7GU.

Skip to content